Landmarks and Historic Districts in Buffalo - Table of Contents

National Historic Landmarks

What are National Historic Landmarks (NHL)?

National Historic Landmarks are nationally significant historic places designated by the Secretary of the Interior because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States. Today, fewer than 2,500 historic places bear this national distinction. (Source: National Historic Landmarks Program Home Page)

What are Buffalo's National Historic Landmarks?

There are eight:

Prudential (Guaranty) Building

Darwin D. Martin House

Buffalo State Hospital (Richardson Olmsted Complex)

Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society

St. Paul's Cathedral

Kleinhans Music Hall

Edward M. Cotter

U.S.S. The Sullivans

Columbia (Excursion Steamer) (Relocated from Michigan in 2015) - 07/06/92


East Aurora - Roycroft Campus

East Aurora - Millard Fillmore House

Niagara Falls - Adams Power Plant Transformer House

Niagara Falls
- Niagara Reservation

Batavia - Holland Land Office

Where can the official list be found?

On the National Historic Landmarks Program: Lists of National Historic Landmarks (By state. Includes date of listing; online July 2018)

Page by Chuck LaChiusa
| ...Home Page ...| ..Buffalo Architecture Index...| ..Buffalo History Index... |.....E-Mail ...| .

web site consulting by ingenious, inc.